I job search, therefore I am.

26 Nov

I also have a please give me a job blog www.keepwritingon.webs.com and now this one.

It’s apparent I have a lot of time.  Tis true.  I was laid off of my ESL teaching job about three months ago.  I’d worked at the same position for seven and a half years and even though I knew over a year ahead of time that the company was either going to close or change dramatically (and not in a good way), I bided my time.  With a whole lot of other people that I worked with, I basicallly denied what was happening.  It had been such a good job for so long and with such good pay, that even a 25% pay cut didn’t get me working on my resume.

A further 15% pay cut, removal of all benefits and new ownership didn’t either.  The stress of it all was really rather ridiculous but it gave my brain something to focus on.  So, long story short, I was finally laid off in September 2011.  I’ve decided I want to get out of teaching ESL and try to do something more with writing.  I was a journalist a zillion and one years ago and there are so many transferable skills from teaching.  Shouldn’t be super hard, I thought.  Oh sure, I was pretty sure it would be a little hard.  I’ve been unemployed before, although that was back in a better job market and at a time when I was paying much much less rent.

Now though, looking for work is rather brutal in many ways.  I’ve jigged and re-jigged my resume, network wherer I can and responded to I’m sure more than 100 positions.  I’ve  heard back nothing, not even from a volunteer writing position.

Oh.

Uh oh.

So this blog will be a mix of serious entries and more humourous ones.  But they will all be about my job search.  I don’t expect to get a job out of this but I’d love to find a wee fan base who may find themselves in the same position – in Vancouver or anywhere in the world.  Not so much because misery loves company (which, yes, it indeed does indeedy deed) but it might be nice to bounce ideas off of each other.

And so I begin.

Welcome.

5 Responses to “I job search, therefore I am.”

  1. Carrie December 17, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    the link goes to a Gospel Songs blog. Is that some sort of joke, or a mistake, or ….?

    • jobsearchinginvancouver December 17, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

      oh no! ooops, I must have put the wrong link – eeek I put ‘blogspot’ instead of ‘webs’ Thanks for noticing the mistake, I’m correcting it!

  2. Carrie December 17, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Yesterday, I found two typos in one sentence in a cover letter I sent out a couple of months ago…..I think it is damn near impossible to proofread one’s own work.

    Thankfully, it wasn’t for a proofreading/editing job, and I had just spent some time with my 5 month old niece so I actually laughed instead of cried. Anyway — I am a little bit too familiar with the hell of being unemployed and wish you good luck with your job search — and with the Transitions program, which I took 2 years ago, during my 2.5 year search for work. I am now moving into Month 5 of alternating despair/faking positivity (scored a part-time, one year contract last year that finished up around the same time you were laid off).

    • jobsearchinginvancouver December 17, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

      Wow. I’ve favourited your blog because I love a good blog. Did you get anything out of the Transitions program – was it useful? I’m kinda reluctant to do it but should, since it only has three sessions left to go and then it will no longer be there, thanks to all the changes to these programs. It’s odd because even though I’m not doing much, I really don’t want to waste my time at Transitions if it is not going to be useful.

      • Carrie December 17, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

        not odd at all. It’s the curse of unemployment, trying to figure out to spend your time — I just sent you a ridiculously long email about my Transitions experience, but to summarize for anyone reading:

        It can’t hurt, and it might help. You never know who you can meet who might be able to provide a solid lead for you.

Leave a Reply

