welcome!

15 Dec

I see that my little promoting got me some more visitors – excellent!  As I say, what I’d like to get going are comments and such about people’s experiences of job searching – in Vancouver or anywhere in the world really.  However much you want to share – where have you been looking?  What kind of a job are you looking for?  How long have you been looking, etc.  I don’t have any answers obviously and I can’t find you a job although I wish I could!

What kind of struggles are you having?  What things to do you do to help you get over the humps?  Do you network?  Etc. etc.

Job searching can be a lonely (and sometimes long) endeavor and I think this blog can be one place of support.  I’m not sure how the comments work on here – you may have to sign up or some such  – but don’t let that stop you please.

Anyway, there you go.  We’ll see what happens.

In other news, it’s a cloudy and cold day on the coast – after such an unusually lovely November, December is so far more par for the Vancouver winter.  Rumour is snow on Saturday.  I’m bundling up and heading downtown to meet with a career transition place and may do their three week course starting in January.  I’d do it more for the support than anything else actually.  Then I’m headed by bus over to the awesome Maggie’s and then maybe back downtown to meet up with some former colleagues although I don’t know if I’ll make it back on time. So it is good that I will be getting out of the house for awhile, me thinks.  Winter viruses are upon us – so remember, sneeze into your elbow.

Uh, clouds and rain.  I do miss the prairie skies that go on forever but alas, not the prairie frigid cold as I’ve said before.  But the darkness out here makes everything kinda flat.  Hawaii may just be the place to be or perhaps teaching English in Saudi Arabia where my friend Stephanie is.

4 Responses to “welcome!”

  1. Marcela December 16, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    I’m a mother of two and have been applying for jobs online, mainly to immigrate to Canada, I can tell its not going to be easy since I need a job offer from a Canadian employer and a positive labour market opinion, do you have any suggestions of different approaches to reaching out employers to see me as a potential employee?
    Thanks in advance

    God bless! ☼

    • jobsearchinginvancouver December 16, 2011 at 2:37 am #

      I don’t really have any suggestions, Marcela,, sorry. If I did, I’d have a job. Ha! It would be very hard from Mexico – it’s hard enough being right here and trying to find something.

    • Thomas January 2, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      Hello Marcela,

      I am no expert but if you don’t have at least a “sponsor” to help you move here to Canada I believe it may be near impossible.

      As you know the job market is very weak right now and unless you have a very impressive resume with tons of much sought after skills and talents , sorry to say but I think your chances of finding employment here are slim to none.

      May not be what you want to hear but I really believe that right now that is the reality.

      • Marcela January 9, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

        your right, i guess all i need is an LMO and to impress a possible employer in Canada! I’ll keep trying!
        I hope this year is better for everyone in all aspects of their life’s!

Leave a Reply

