not cover letters and resumes yet but soon

18 Dec

I know I promised.  I know,  I know.

I know.

Just a short post to say that I’m reading someone’s blog and they are also talking a bit about their job searching and I find their comments on cover letters hilarious and I want to copy it and pretend that I did it but I will not because that is wrong.

Also, uh, the apple turnovers.  There were 6 in a pack.  I ate three  last night and one about an hour ago.  Now I feel rather ill.  Crap.

I’m trying not to read the book I bought too quickly because I spent so much money on it.  Although the author has this annoying thing where she has Italian characters in a kind of mob.  Is this not racism?  Sheesh, it is taking me out of the story.

Oh!  And my New Yorker subscription will be coming in hard copy form starting the Jan. 2 issue.  Because I am in Canada, this means I should get it by January 10th.

Too many apple turnovers had I.

If I still had my car, I’d go out and look for Soap Opera Digest.  I know, it is so obsessive these things.  Why do libraries not carry Soap Opera Digest?  They have Hello magazine for goodness sakes. 

More on me – I’m thinking of not doing the Transitions course.  I honestly just can’t un-blah about it, I really can’t.  I feel a sort of dread when I think about it.  Plus, I really am going to take those 12 hours over 2 days work at my wee church.  I’m even kinda looking forward to answering the phones.  Six hours each day – I trust I will be able to stay awake.  Luckily it is only a few minutes walk from my abode.  I can pack a lunch! 

Before my former place of employ began to fall apart in 2011, I was at one point making $40/hour teaching ESL.  I kid you not.  Now, don’t let this encourage you to get into the industry- that was definitely an anomaly. Now I would be thrilled with $20/hour.  Sigh.

I feel sick even thinking about apple turnovers.

2 Responses to “not cover letters and resumes yet but soon”

  1. B December 18, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    Where was the plagiarism reference? Unless it was something about apple turnovers. Safeway apple turnovers are not to be eaten in bulk. Costco apple turnovers neither. While I’m at it, I’m not at all sure about Save-On Foods apple turnovers. Now home-made apple turnovers are definitely for eating in bulk. Learn how to make them and you can save money.

  2. jobsearchinginvancouver December 18, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    well, due to my killer stomach flu, I will probably never eat again!

Leave a Reply

