Cycling in the rain

7 Jan

Long days, sometimes.  The rains are here, the cold, the low hanging greyness.  Darkness early each day or all day.

I want one of those spectrum lights – but they are rather pricey – you know, the ones that people in Vancouver get to fool their brains into thinking they are getting sunshine.  “Don’t kill yourself lights,” is what I call them.

Met Christine (a new name in my blog!) for a wee snack at the Starbucks not near my house. I’d say it’s a Starbucks about halfway between my house and where I walked to East Van the other week.  I decided to take my bicycle and my bike light that doesn’t really give off any, well, light.  Uh well.

Took the 8th Avenue bike route (where there are still cars, of course). It began to rain heavily and I wasn’t really dressed properly, although the wool socks were a good idea.  Nice to see Christine.

“It will take me a few minutes,” I said, “To get used to speaking again.  I’ve been alone a lot.”

But the groove came back and we chortled and shared things in our lives. I think I’ve known Christine for at least 15 years.  One of those comfortable friendships.

I gotta tell you, the Starbucks turkey and cheese (!) sandwich was expensive and not very good but I needed a little protein.

The ride back was freezing and rainy but with these odd pockets of warmth that I was grateful for.  No reason for the pockets of warmth, they didn’t have anything special about them.  I stopped at a library (of course!) the Firehall library (shockingly, situated next to a firehall) and it was warm and packed with people.  It’s a small wee branch.  They sell used mags for 25 cents a pop and they randomly had the weekend magazine insert from the London Times – someone must have dropped it off.  AWESOME!  It’s stuff like that and pockets of warmth that’ll keep  you going, I tell you.

I had an interview last Tuesday for an (eeek) ESL job and have one this upcoming Tuesday.  I’m doing it, I think, mainly for the practice.  The pay is often shockingly low, something I usually don’t find out until the end of an interview.  It is the only field of work where I would ask before an interview the hourly wage (and employers are not shocked by that, some seem to respect it) so that we can all save time.  It is also the only field I think where years of experience doesn’t affect your starting salary.  I have 12 years of experience but it doesn’t matter. Some would say, as T. suggested, that some salary is better than no salary.  True in some ways but I need to make at least enough to cover my expenses because even though I’d only be paid for 25 hours a week, I”d be there for at least 40.  It is not a grind I want to get back into yet, especially at a very low salary. It makes no sense.  The world of ESL international schools I think is only really understood by those who have been there.  Still, it was nice to actually hear back from companies.  On Friday morning, I randomly sent out about a dozen resumes to different ESL schools.  Within 20 minutes,  I’d heard from two.  Seems my resumes are getting through, who knew.

I want to write more about the ESL world but feel that I can’t – don”t want to bite the hand that may feed me again.  Not that the hand knows about my blog, but you never ever know.

The Glenda is popping over so that we can write for a little while – nice!   I’m reading at my writing group on Monday evening and need to have something ready.

Leave a Reply

