Not a resume-able talent really

9 Jan

My ability  to sit around for hours and do absolutely nothing is rather remarkable in some ways, me thinks.

Take today. Today is Sunday.  For some reason, I had absolutely no desire to go to my wee church today, possibly partly because I slept rather poorly.  But also I was just feeling blah and couldn’t be bothered was  how I was feeling.

Now at least if I go to my wee church I would have interacted with other humans today.  I knew that if I didn’t, I probably wouldn’t.  C’est la vie.

I stayed in bed late then did some writing and some laundry.  Watched a bit of TV.  Watched soap opera bloopers on the internet (I know, I know).  I like all kinds of TV bloopers, not just soap opera ones,  people!

It’s been gray and raining for a few days and I didn’t want to go out necessarily because I knew that whereever I went, I would inevitably spend money.

Now I’m in my bedroom, CBC radio on – I have this little portable radio/CD player that I bought last year because a couple of years ago someone stole just the faceplate from my 1986 car’s CD player.  I figure they got caught before they could steal the whole thing.  It was an old CD player and cost me about $100 at the time so I’m not thinking big money for them.  Anyway, I now use it in the bedroom.  It was never very good in the car – the CD player worked erratically as did the radio.  I’d be driving down the road in my 1986 vague death trap and looking at the passenger seat to fiddle with the portable radio.  Hmmm.

I obviously need a hobby in addition to writing, reading, internet surfing and obsessing.  Obviously.  The thing is, here is the thing.  I am creative in writing but the other artistic stuff completely passed me by.  Can’t draw a straight line with a ruler type thng.  My hands aren’t steady enough for knitting and the like and I don’t have the patience to figure out sewing, although I desperately admire those who can.  I find the sound of knitting needles, well, knitting, soothing.

C. continues to be supportive.  I called her yesterday and eeek and whine and worry and the like.  She offered supportive words (and sentences) as per usual.  If I ever actually get a job, I shall buy her a large cup of specialty coffee or probably an alcoholic beverage would be her preference.  I am not implying that she is an alcoholic!  Goodness no.  Not that there is anything wrong with that.

I’ve thought about getting into drinking myself.  Believe it or not at my advanced age I have never been drunk and don’t really feel like starting now.  But you never know. Could be a hobby of sorts.

Seems some folks have been reading my blog and taking it all quite literally and will probably now worry that I intend on becoming a drunkard.  No, no, no, no, no.  It’s mostly vague humour of a sort.  But you don’t want to become too incredibly cynical in humour I feel.  I recently found the Knots Landing actress, Claudia Lonow (she played Diana Fairgate on the great and late Knots Landing) on Twitter.  Her bio says she is a ‘former cocaine enthusiast’ so it is that kind of humour.  She is a TV writer now.  But wowza her tweets are constantly  incredibly cynical, bitter but funny.  It’s just too intense for me and gets exhausting.  I would find her exhausting to be around although she may be more chilled out in person, who knows.  I think I will probably not ever meet her to find out.  Anyway, I don’t want my writing to be exhausting for people.  Mind you, everyone has different tastes and some like and some don’t.  Stronger personalities like mine seem to have people really liking it or really not.   Tis how it goes.  I’m not demur.  I don’t know how to be demur.  I have allowed this to bother me.

Sometimes the extremely laid back get on quite well with me.  Case in point is Maggie May or Michelle.  Or if they are strong personalities but in a different way – like Tracy say. 

I used to work with a woman who was extremely loud and strong personalitied (not a word, I know) and I loved it, loved it.  Others thought she was too loud but I thought it was super duper.  Folks like that add a little spice.

There’s been a lot of talk in pop culture/Hollywood/schmolyWood recently about Demi Moore.  She’s been quoted saying how massively insecure she is about herself, her body and feeling that no one will ever ever love her.  This of course has all come more to the forefront because of the whole Ashton Kutcher thing.  Demi Moore is almost 50 years old, I think.  And it seems so sad to me that she still seems to be basing her self-esteem around what men think about her. Not sure how that will affect her three daughters, although they seem quite together but who knows.  Demi has gotten so skinny after the whole Ashton thing that she looks quite sickly.  She had to go to Hawaii to recover.  That is kind of where my sympathy ebbed.

I realize that most if not all women in Hollywood are incredibly insecure, how else to explain Knots Landing actress Joan Van Ark’s plastic surgery and resulting huge plastic surgery mistakes.  Google a before and after if you are bored.

Oh, Knots Landing.  Loved that show.

3 Responses to “Not a resume-able talent really”

  1. christine killen January 9, 2012 at 1:11 am #

    I am amused.

  2. Thomas January 9, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    Hello Karen,

    Still here and reading your posts with interest. FYI on the job situation, not so much as a computer generated email response. Nothing.

    Get’s depressing but must continue to search and go forward, heck, really have no choice.

    Take care.

    Thomas

    • jobsearchinginvancouver January 10, 2012 at 2:15 am #

      Hey, Thomas. It does indeed get depressing! So awful about not hearing anything back – I can so totally and utterly related.
      Thanks for continuing to read my blog

Leave a Reply

