I can still write on here

13 Jan

Even though I have just gotten a little temporary job.  ESL does suck out my soul at downtown international schools but it does not suck out my soul when it is at the University of British Columbia’s English Language Institute.  Monday-Friday, 9-12, with the odd meeting, etc.  It”s their  “Language and Culture” program that runs 12 weeks a year.  Two weeks in, they discover that they need to split a class and need someone immediately.  I’m available!  I go in for the rather gruelling interview and bing bang boom, do I want the job.

I start tomorrow, Friday.  On Fridays they do a field trip and they want me to meet my students.  The three L&C classes are going together and I’m meeting them for skating and then going up to the top of Harbour Tower.  Good times. 

My eight students I’m told are very very low level, which is funny since I speak fast and prefer higher levels.  But the low lows are great in that they just love learning anything at all and I can spend a whole morning on like learning how to say, “Hello, my name is ____________”

It’s a two week and one day gig with the potential for 8 more weeks.  I worked at ELI 9 years ago and liked it.  It’s a university people!

Because I don’t have a Masters degree, I can’t work more than 36 out of 52 weeks at ELI.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.  I’m just going to get right into the next two weeks and go from there.  Getting up early!!!!!!!!!!!!  But even with all of the prep. I should be home early afternoons and will be able to uh, sleep or you know, work on my writing.

And blog, I shall blog.

I am still one of  you.

4 Responses to “I can still write on here”

  1. Schnee January 13, 2012 at 3:27 am #

    You can borrow mine if you like, I’m not using it! Oh, well, maybe I am a little bit. You could use it mornings and I could have it for the afternoons. (MA in Language Education that is – what else!)

    Anyhoo, congrats Karen, this is REALLY good news:))

    • jobsearchinginvancouver January 15, 2012 at 2:26 am #

      I shall borrow yours. Can you white out your name and put my name in – your handwriting is far neater than mine. kindly

  2. Carrie January 13, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    because you don’t have a master’s degree? What the hell? Rules make me screamy.

    So not having a master’s degree prevents you from working as much as you’d like, while my having a master’s degree prevents me from working as much as I’d like, too. I am automatically removed from certain competitions because I have a master’s degree, even though I have NEVER made “master’s degree” wages.

    The world makes no sense! This is madness! Except for the part about getting a job. Congratulations!

    And thanks for giving me insight into why I was so bloody bored out of my mind when I was taking French classes in Quebec: I guess the teachers thought we all enjoyed spending hours learning the same phrase over and over. Which left me being able to parrot the correct phrases, but only if the person I was talking to never ever EVER deviated from the script. Talk about good times.

    • jobsearchinginvancouver January 14, 2012 at 2:42 am #

      Hey, Carrie, maybe you could work at ELI! Any Masters will do I think, you just need to get a TESL or a CELTA. Mind you, it was all timing and there aren’t actually that many jobs there.
      I started today full on – no teaching yet but meeting the students, hours of orientation and prep. Working is exhausting, especially after four months of not!
      Turns out I can teach 34, not 36 weeks a year as I had thought without a Masters. It’s CUPE, so I’m not surprised by the rules. That said, because it is unionized it is good pay. Alas, not permanent.
      Glad I was able to give you insight in language learning, ha. I’ve tried taking Spanish through continuing ed. and it was dull and not useful but the other students didn’t seem bothered probably because they hadn’t taught a second language before. I’m surprised though that in Quebec they wouldn’t have a fairly developed French as a Second Language program – too bad. Don’t know why some people think rote learning out of a book is the way to teach a language. They should have had you and your classmates practicing real world type conversations and maybe even out in the real world talking to people.
      Exhausted, must go to bed absurdly early, even for me.

Leave a Reply

