a little of this and that

5 Feb

Okay, I have to say, I HAVE TO SAY, that the bra lady at the Bay downtown is amazing.  Let us not belabour the bra point but my goodness a good bra makes all the difference.  I know this but hadn’t gone to get any new ones for several months due to, well, being unemployed.  On Friday, pal Tracy and I went to Costco and then skytrained it over to the Bay.  Like the good stereotypical husband that she is, she took a chair in the lingerie department and waited.

“I CAN’T SEE THE BRA LADY.”  I shouted.

Tracy, however, has a keen eye.  “I just saw her go that way?”  “Which way?”  “That way.” and etc.  This bra lady knows for bras.  Within five minutes she had re-sized me up (hmmm, seems I’ve gained a little weight) and found the one sale stuff and within 10 minutes I had two great bras for like $45!  Amazing.  One brown and one light pink.  Glory be.  The brown one is making its debut today.  Fabulous.  Why shop anywhere else?  I’ve tried the more specialized shops and no one, no one I say, knows her stuff like bra lady.

On Saturday, I went cycling around Stanley Park with Michelle and Chris.  It was sunny but cool.  Then rather fascinatingly, a huge fog rolled in and it was cloudy, windy and freezing.  I do love the seawall.

More work related talk now.  I was told yesterday that some expert says that most employers won’t even look at your resume unless you have at least! 200 connections on LinkedIn.  Yeah, that kind of stuff is uh, yeah.  It’s the whole corporate game that I have always hated and even in my chronic unemployment, a game I do not want to learn how to play.  And I will have to learn how to play if ever I want to land permanent work, I guess.  But, ick.  It’s not like any of these corporate folks are reading my blog so I feel free to say what I think of that whole thing.  The whole movers, shakers, offices on the 90th floor, business trips and doing lunch and on and on – oy.  Oy.  Not sure what else to say about that.  This will mean that I am jobless longer than ever perhaps but I won’t be . . . . that.  Hmmm, I’m not explaining this well so it is coming out holier-than-thou which is not what I mean at all. And to be honest, even if that’s what I wanted – I am not in that league.  I don’t have the connections, I don’t have the look, the attitude or the experience.  So I’m not at all saying oh, I could but I don’t want to.   I’m saying I couldn’t and I don’t want to.    I mean I haven’t’ forgotten the black hole where my resume and cover letters have gone.  Brutal.  It is all just – wait for the cliche – it all just seems so soulless to me.  I’m not idealistic in any way but just, ick.

Okay, enough of that, it makes me feel more nihilistic than usual.  I have three more weeks at my job that I like so that is great.  It is sunny here again today so also great.  I’m rather hungry but have no groceries whatsoever.  Must go grocery shopping today.

I wonder how many connections the awesome bra lady at the Bay has.  Just curious.

 

Leave a Reply

