Icky. ick. ooh, ick.

22 Mar

Small tiny diminishing fanbase!   I need some advice.

First, I am still very much considering looking into a distance Masters in TESOL through that university in Australia (yes, accredited!).

But, shorter term goals first.  Now that my job is over in less than 48 hours (have I not mentioned that 800 times? OCD-ish, really),and I’m unsure when they will call me back (or if and etc),, I’m having to think again about what I should do.  Let us remember that I do not like administrative work, no, no, no I do not.  No.

No.

But I also need to eat and the like.  Sigh.  Sigh.  And after four months of applying into the great cyberspace black hole for communication/writing type jobs, I realize that that is a bit of a dead end.

BCIT is offering a one night a week MS Office Suite course but it is fairly expensive – $500 plus tax and books and a two zone bus pass (eeek).  And it’s out in Burnaby but that is more easily bus-able than I originally thought.  After this course, I imagine I’d be more administratively employable.  ick though.  Ick.  But I’m hoping employable not just in the secretarial sense but also in the higher up type sense.  Hmmmm.

I also know that if I take something that I don’t like that I may not excel (ha!  a little MS Excel joke there).  And my experiences thus far with Excel have taught me that this is not so much my area of strength.  (‘Put the Excel down and walk away’ is pretty much what was said at the awesome church secretary subbing I did back in January for 12 hours.  I was better suited to eating the free lunch the church kindly provides for the neighbourhood once a week.  Come to think of it, I may have mentioned that a couple of months ago pal Fiona and I were downtown on a Saturday waiting to see the ‘pay what you can’ play at the now desperately sadly defunct Vancouver Playhouse.  We went to the nearby VCC to see if they had any food for sale.  Darned if it wasn’t there once a year turkey dinner and all the trimmings for the folks on the Downtown Eastside. Next thing we knew, we were chowing down on potatoes and turkey.  But I digress).It kinda makes me sigh to think that all my great writing skills (hey, now, we don’t need that kind of cocky talk) are being wasted as I try to square my circle into more administrative stuff.  I guess my hope would be that the UBC in house temp agency would then notice me.  I just e-mailed and asked if such a course would help them notice me but I betcha they don’t answer.  It’s just that the darned job market is not welcoming my skills.  It is welcoming those with newer and better education, darn it.  I can freelance once in awhile but that ain’t putting the Mr.Noodles on my plate anytime soon.

And for me, as I say $500+dollar is a lot.

Advice please oh please.  I don’t want to play in the pink ghetto but if I have to, I want to make sure that this course will help me.

Sincerely,

me.

3 Responses to “Icky. ick. ooh, ick.”

  1. Schnee March 22, 2012 at 3:22 am #

    Are you allowed to audit this course? It seems like a lot of money to fork over for something you’re not sure about. Is there nothing you can get Service Canada to pay for, after their amazing re-structuring of course ?

    • jobsearchinginvancouver March 22, 2012 at 3:32 am #

      I’m not counting on EI funding for this because then they will be all over me to get a job in clerical work and I don’t want that. Also, the red tape is annoying but mainly because I don’t want the govt hassling me to get a job in a field I don’t really want but would use as a last resort as stop gap. They don”t want to hear stop gap, they want to know I’ll work in this field. Yuck. That’s what is so annoying – having to train for something I don’t even want. Sigh. You can’t audit this course which makes sense because really they are teaching everything even without tests, etc. Plus, I’d want the official credit. I don’t know- I’m hoping the information session next week will help. I’m bored and frustrated already!

      • jobsearchinginvancouver March 22, 2012 at 3:56 am #

        I am replying to myself. What can this mean?! Anyway, I think I’m already talking myself out of this course . . .

Leave a Reply

