ahoy

28 Mar

I woke up this morning and it was just raining and raining and raining and grey.

It is easier to be unemployed, I find, when it is warm and sunny.  It’s windy but the sun is (temporarily) poking through so I may get out on my bike (cold though).  I’m spending a lot of time, again, lying around- reading, sleeping, all that knd of thing.  Need to get the body moving.

Yesterday, I went downstairs to my bike and it had a flat front tire.  So I walked it over to a bike shop at Vine and Broadway.  They’re great and have changed my tube before.  Not only did he do that, but he put oil on and most importantly, fixed a problem I didn’t even know I had.  The back tire wasn’t true and the right handlebar, well, handle was all wonky and somehow this all made the brake wonky.  He fixed this.  All for the $12 price of a new tube and installation.  Now both tires are inflated nicely and the back brake works so much better.  So they have my loyalty, I gotta say.  No fuss, no muss and I was in and out of there quickly. 

I don’t cough through the night which is good.  I called pal Glenda earlier and mentioned I was so bored but didn’t want to spend any money.  “Make a series of doctors’ appointments about your cough,” said she, “It will keep you busy and you’ll have people to talk to.”  Good idea, the Glenda.  Glenda doesn’t get bored, which I admire.

What else?  Oh!  Maggie’s toddler is out of the hospital, phew.  She’s not a hundred percent yet but getting there and the baby is doing much much better as well.  Phew. Maggie said this virus has been affecting her daughter on and off for three weeks now. Poor little one. 

I have literally absolutely nothing going on and I seem unable to be as entertaining (ha) as I normally am.  Goodness.  Goodness. 

Thank god I read obsessively, gives me a reliable thing to do.  Oh and online backgammon! I think I noted this before but it is so so so addictive. 

I’m applying for jobs, of course, and I’m sure something will come up at sometime, somewhere, doing something.  Reader and commenter Thomas is adopting a new approach – he’s going to get out there more in person,, show his face.  I think that is a great idea.

Tomorrow at 5 pm I’m going to the BCIT downtown campus for the open house on part time computer courses, you know, that one I wanted the advice about.  I’m  not so keen on taking it anymore but I’m hoping they might offer a refreshment or two.

sigh. I’m such an extrovert and need people to talk to!

Hmmm, I think my last few posts are kind of depressing/depressed.  Hang in there, wee wee fan base.  Things will come around.

Leave a Reply

