writers reading their writing

14 Nov

First of all, what up with this whole David I can’t spell his last name Petreaus thing.  I could look it up, by why.  I think iti s Petraeus.  I wasn’t really paying attention but apparently it is blowing up into hugeness.  Petraeus had an affair with the woman who wrote a book about him.  And now the society woman who i think outed all this is claiming she got harrassing e-mails from the high level military official she had a fling with and he has resigned too.

Oy.

So I walked to my local library tonight and found the latest issue of the Walrus! and a couple of other things. I also heard an author talking about her first book, Nicolaii’s Daughters.  Stella Harvey is the author”s name. The little room in the basement of the library was packed with listeners – she knew most of the folks but not all.  And darned if the great Vancouver writer who I vaguely worship, Caroline Adderson, was in the crowd.  She seems to write mainly teen fiction now but I’ve enjoyed her adult fiction.

So I felt vaguely inspired to write my way out of a bored coma.  But I NEED PEOPLE AROUND ME.  Sheesh, I say.  Sheesh.

The Mormon blog comment section has gone boringly silent for the moment.  I realize that it was incredibly arrogant of me to say that I feel intellectually superior to the Mormon commenters.  Yeah, true enough, that is so arrogant.  But I mean check this out – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6udew9axmdM  Someone got secret footage of Mormon temple ceremonies.  The Mormon Church had them taken down, calling it ‘hate speech’.  Guess that got overturned.  Fascinating really, very masonic some say.  The fellow who writes the blog is actually pretty smart and as a Mormon he would believe and have participated in some of those ceremonies.  Uh huh.  It is arrogant as heck of me though to think that my mocking little comments will cause some of these LDS-ers to think, ”oh my gosh, some of my beliefs are crazy! I didn’t even realize I believed them.  I just always believed what I was told and I have a great community of people who believe the same thing.”   Yes, that is wrong of me.  Many religions have some wackiness to them but it’s when they are secret that make me go hmmm.

Hmmm.

Oh, how fun is it to be living off of my savings.

ha.

must go read something now.

 

3 Responses to “writers reading their writing”

  1. Tammy November 14, 2012 at 5:03 am #

    I haven’t been interested enough to research that scandal either. Can help thinking about Harry Potter and his patronis when I see the dudes name. 😉

  2. Janis November 14, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    The Petraus thing is apparently because when you’re in the CIA – or in charge of it – you must tell them if you’re having an affair. That’s true, not just sarcasm. The affair itself doesn’t threaten national security (and in my opinion it doesn’t), so long as the enemy can’t blackmail you over it.

Leave a Reply

