Interesting spike and summer ESLing

3 May

Hadn’t checked on the blog in awhile – smoking cow of all holiness the stats spiked yesterday to more people than have ever looked at my blog in one day except for that weird spike one day in January 2012.

I think it is as a result of the teenage guest poster.  That must be it.

Whatever it was, my excitement is downright uncontainable.

Well, not really.

Well, well, well.  The summer-esque ESL spike is thankfully upon us here in the Pacific north-north west.  At the one downtown school that I sub at (it pays a ‘decent’ wage – about 60% more than any other downtown school) I have been getting more work.  Full time is considered 4.5 hours of paid eyeball to eyeball time but we all know teachers put in a lot more than that.  Nonetheless, there it is.  I have been told that there should be work until the end of May at least, so that is good.  Although one never knows.  It’s not that student numbers have drastically picked up; rather, lots of regular teachers are going on holidays.  As such, I got an actual paycheque yesterday that covered my rent.  That hasn’t happened in about seven months . . . craziness all around.  And my Langara evening course should start in a bit less than two weeks for eight weeks and the other one (that pays a bit more) might run as well but not as certain.  I won’t be making enough to actually save any money but I will hopefully make enough that I don’t have to bleed my savings further for a little while so good and phew.  Come September though . . .

Gack.

The eight months very little work and then four months of more work is a cycle that is for sure that I can only keep up for so long I realize.

What else, what else.

Oh!  Oh!  Oh! and oh – Seems my blood sugar levels are up and I have to cut back on refined sugars – I don’t really ever drink anything but water but the last few days have most definitely been craving (and giving into) soft drink cravings.  Must be because I know I should not.  Apparently I am becoming slightly insulin resistant, and this will be monitored I guess in three months or something.  Fabulous.  I do eat a lot of refined sugars tis true – I’m not a good or patient cook and therefore eat a lot more processed food than is wise.

Weight around the belly, noted the sub. doctor (my doctor is often away), is a contributor.  Should watch that she suggested.  She is about 30 I think and quite skinny.

Oh I’m trying, I tell her.  But yeah, I do note that my belly makes a nice resting place for my hands these days.  Discouraging but that’s what sitting around all the time will do for a person – that and say, mid-life.

Weird.  I fight so hard to be able to continue living in the vast expense of Vancouver and yet I often do so little with my free time.  Hmmm.

The earthquake in Nepal is yet another tragedy that is hard to get my mind around – i know that A.T. has worked for an organization there and I will ask her more about it when I see her on Tuesday evening.  Always weird – a massive natural disaster happens and the world keeps spinning everywhere else.  We all make hay while Rome burns or something.  Doesn’t make much sense really.

I’ve been back to cycling as transportation of late so that is good.  I think someone tried to cut through my lock because part of the rubber bit is gone – I should replace that lock, I keep telling myself.  But really I should replace that lock.

Oh geez this is a rather boring blog entry tonight let us be honest.

Two students were going back to their countries on Friday – G. and R.  R’s girlfriend P., who is also in the class, wanted to get a cake but couldn’t find one in the downtown core.  Instead, she picked up some cupcakes from the massively overpriced but fabulous Cupcakes Etc. I think the place is called.  Candles were put in them although I wouldn’t allow the candles to actually be lit due to probably an irrational fear of massive amounts of paper on fire.  Heck, I ate a small chocolate one, blood sugar levels be damned.  G and R are lovely students and I shall miss them.  They added a certain needed ooomph to the class.  I didn’t realize until last week when I ran into them at Chapters, that R. and P. are actually dating.  Do the other students know, I queried, vaguely flabbergasted.  Of course, they said, did I really not know.  Eight years they have been dating.  Put a ring on it, I suggested, although they are still only in their mid-20s.

The things you learn.

The school (it is part of a multinational conglomerate now) is undergoing a complete curriculum overhaul and the levels being rolled out first include the one I am at the moment teaching.  Uh yes, but of course.  It will be more work (for the minimal amount of time I am actually there) but the Smart Board technological aspect of it all is quite cool.  Very few schools (even universities) have Smart Boards yet and I now don’t mind them.  I can’t do half of what they are capable of but I do know the basics of writing and typing on them as well as accessing the internet. The latter is extremely handy, especially when students can’t figure out the meaning of a word and boom, I can pull up a picture of it.  So yeah, that kind of thing.  The new curriculum has activities imbedded in it that are click-on-able I think.  This rolls out the week after this coming up week and I think there are only five or so classes doing it so soon.  Once it is figured out it will be a huge time saver for sure.  Mind you, I am only there until the end of May and maybe a bit of work afterwards, we shall see.

The weather has turned nice – I tried to sit outside today and it was a bit too windy though.

Anyway, more things later perhaps.  I am now craving a chocolate cupcake as one would expect.  And orange pop of all things.

And and and

and

and finally,

and

Leave a Reply

