colour, books, heat, cable and etc.

4 Aug

crayons

Those are the crayons I like – cheap little oil pastels from London Drugs.  Sixteen of them, woot woot.  Thick, rich colour on paper, canvas, cardboard, and probably on whatever the heck.

Last Monday morning – because I don’t work at all except for three weeks starting next week so have upped my Vitamin C – I was able to attend a two hour FREE drawing class on the patio outside of my local library.  I’ve never drawn – hmmm, maybe as a child I did.  I’m realizing I don’t remember much of my childhood.  Anyway, I forged on in.  Something seems have clicked in my brain after over a year of art therapy and I find myself not only enjoying looking at art (who knew used bookstores had so many great art books with great pictures?) but playing around with colour.  I’m the can’t draw a straight line with a ruler person.  Really, not.  And my hands shake (benign essential tremor, which always sounds to me like the tremor is essential and I really need it).  I go on over and it is being led by two young recent Emily Carr graduates.  Mellow, East Van kind of girls.  Coolio.  I over explain my lack of skills and terror and blah blah.  They’ve got pastels and crayons and pencils and pictures of wildlife.  They give us a brief here’s how you do it and then we go to it.  One of them comes over to help me – the other two women are happily drawing a giraffe and a dolphin, respectively.  I kind of get it so I decide to draw a bird and then a fish. Lots of colour involved.  The bird actually ends up looking like the bird on the page.  Vaguely.  The fish looks like a fish.  Go figure. “A fish in the sky,” says one of the instructors, “nice and surreal.”  “You like colour.  Colour might be your thing,” one tells me enthusiastically.  Indeed.  I take home the bird and the fish and send a scan of it to A.T.  I’m not going to show it to anyone else because, well, it’s not a talented thing.  But a fun thing really.  There are four more sessions of the free drawing (it started in June but I had never worked up the courage) but I can only attend the last one due to aforementioned three entire weeks of work.  Meanwhile, I’m colouring at home.

Craziness really.  Art and me.

I went to the Harmony Arts Festival in West Vancouver on Friday afternoon and an artist I like was selling Image (10)

some postcards of her paintings.  She paints local Vancouver scenes, sometimes with a cute kind of touch.  She did one of Kitsilano pool which I thought was awesome.  I’m not sure if this is cheesy or not but I like it.

So, yeah, this is all new for me – this art stuff.  I mean I will never be an artist but I’m really liking colouring more than I can explain.  I haven’t bought the ‘adult’ colouring books mainly because I can’t colour in lines well and it feels constricting to me because of that.  So I just, well, colour.  go figure.  On a deeper level, maybe this shows that my brain, my rigid insists on rules and black and whiteness brain (an odd thing for a writer perhaps) can grow and welcome in a few new things.  Nice.

I’m looking into sort of an open art space that S.T. suggested – not sure if that will work out but I am checking it out.  There are free things in this city and ways to get things for free – but you have to fight for it, to advocate for yourself.  So I’m learning.

The same group that runs the free drawing classes also has been offering free yoga on Kits. Beach over the summer.  Might check it out tonight.  Apparently upwards of 200 people go.  My muscles are always tight so this might be good.

I’m excited (nervous) about the three weeks of work I have coming up at UBC.  I’m all ready getting e-mails about which desk will be my desk and etc.  Makes me feel human.  It’s been sooooo slow though – there is work up there over the summer, I just haven’t gotten any.  Yikes.  Come next month – come the end of the three weeks (knock gosh darned wood that I don’t get sick) all work will be done.  The downtown school I haven’t worked at really in 2.5 months, tell me that the busy season will be over.  “Oh,” I said.  And the pool will be closed and the rains will come.  I will need . . . something.  The what remains the question.  Another sub at the downtown school has gone off to Taiwan to teach, smart man he.  But I’m here and I think I generally want to be here.  As such . . .

I cut my tv cable!  Cut the cord and what not.  That is a good savings of $30 or so a month.  I’ve been watching Netflix and live streaming other channels.  Listening to the radio more.  But it’s a bit tricky because living alone, I need the noise.

I sold some of my books at three different used bookshops yesterday and made about $45 so that was good.  I’ve got a few record albums to bring to a record shop and then I’m kind of out of things to sell!

I’ve been enjoying tutoring a student on Saturday afternoons for an hour in library square downtown.  He is from Iran and did his Masters’ in film editing in India.  His work sounds so interesting.  We’ve been working on the present perfect, something he is content to do for a few weeks.  So that’s $30 a week for however long it lasts.  And it gets me out of the house!

Hmmm, what else. Well, I had been hoping that going back to the Vineyard might have resulted in a bit more of a community for me, but that has turned out not to be the case really.  Well, most folks are busy because it is summer.  Fair enough.  I don’t schlepp out there every week because it is quite far actually and I am often quite lazy.  I imagine if I volunteered to help out that I would meet more folks.  It’s a really small church but there are some people I have never met and after months of going it becomes tricky for anyone to say hey and what not.  Most people seem to have lots of connections all ready – family, friends, etc.  One woman in my wee home group (not meeting in the summer) noted that she has enough friends and is so busy that she has had to back away from new friendships.  Fair enough.  It’s tricky.  No one to blame really – just the reality I guess.  I’m not certain that I will continue attending because there is just so much I do not believe – and yet, I don’t know.

Eeek, that all sounds lonely and vaguely sad.  On a brighter note, I do enjoy my Monday evening writers’ group which isn’t meeting tonight for the holiday.  I probably won’t be attending during my three weeks of working but will after.  I look forward to it.  Hopefully, the two Langara evening classes will run again starting in Octobet but that is a never known known.

Gosh, this is a bit of a dull blog entry really.

Well the federal election is in 11 weeks – who knows, we might end up with an NDP government holy cow.  Lots of folks are ticked at Harper that’s for sure (for example, http://www.shd.ca/ and http://www.whynotharper.ca/.

Also, people keep dying in Vancouver from fentanyl overdoses – including a married couple who had a baby.  Yikes.

Off to free yoga.

Leave a Reply

