Blog blahs

A bit of the blog blahs, tis true.

For New Year’s Eve, Michelle had a nice little gathering.  Even the Glenda and Ian came out for it!  To East  Van!  There were about 10 people all together and we played a very long but fun game of Cranium.

By 12:30 pm., I was practically asleep on the futon.  Michelle thought it was a rebellion nap but no, I was tired.  We left about 15 minutes later.  I’ve never been one to be able to stay up past 10:35 pm or say 10:36 pm, even in my twenties.  Don’t know why.  I’m sure I’m missing out on the fun half of life.

So Happy New Years Day to the blog people.  Here’s hoping it doesn’t suck. 

Hmmm, job related.  Okay, well, 2011.  First though, what happens if a company doesn’t issue you a T4?  Such is the state of the company I got laid off from.  They have trouble it seems even issuing pay cheques at times (and apparently still haven’t gotten around to getting direct deposit) and once their phone was cut off for an afternoon because they had failed to pay the bill.  Ooops.  The thing is too that in the 8.5 months I was there in 2011, the company was owned by three – count them three – different groups of people.  Will I be getting three T4s?  I’m obsessing because I really really need my income tax return which might be fairly substantial since I only worked a bit more than 8 months last year.  (Last year!  2011 is now last year!)  Anyway, guess I’ll have to wait and see.

When I eventually have a job interview and the inevitable how do you handle stress question arises, I think I can say – ‘well, in my last 15 months of work at the company, there was always a threat that it would shut down.  Then there were two wage cuts, removable of benefits, layoffs, three different owners, gnashing of teeth, crosswords at lunchtime and a partridge in a pear tree.  But we went into the classrooms with happy happy joy joy smiles on our faces.  Oh and I once had a young and sweet Japanese student sobbing in the washroom because my class was too hard.  Bent in half sobbing.  In the actual class, another student was very annoyed that another student was bent in half sobbing in the washroom.  I had to run back and forth.  This was in the basement.  The little black mice ran much faster than I did.  But there was a vending machine with those awesome chocolate chip cookies.  A bit pricey though.  Oh and one teacher gave everyone else little chocolate eggs at Easter but not me.  And sometimes I would ride my bike to work and getting of the Burrard Bridge drivers would often see fit to swear at me.  And finally, I got a bit sick of the bean and rice salad I kept making but did you know that that is a perfect protein?  When the teacher with the chocolate eggs was still speaking to me, she told me that and it stuck with me.”

C. thinks the T4 situation it will be fine.  “It’s the law!” she said.  True but let’s look at the track record there.

Or not.

Now last year at this time I was rather thrilled to learn that I’d still be working at the company in January.  I didn’t know how long that would last so I only took a week off during those eight months.  Uh yeah.

So after Monday, the holidays are over and the year revs up.  I have something vaguely and potentially interesting on Tuesday but won’t discuss it until after all is said and done.  Nothing major, just something.

I haven’t heard back from “this Magaazine” yet although the editor has had my piece for more than a week.  Me thinks she is holidaying although my paranoia is wondering if she doesn’t like my article.  Time will tell on that too.  And I need to get something out to the Courier newspaper this week. 

But that’s about it really.  I’ll get back to applying for jobs again.  Yup, back on that horse.  My EI case manager sent out an e-mail to all of her clients, informing us that she will be away until January 9th.  Thank you, case manager.  Nice to get an e-mail once in awhile as it confirms for me that SHE IS STILL ALIVE.

Oh, oh and I’m reading when our writers’ group starts up again on January 9th, so I need to, I don’t know, write something.

Oh and let us not forget the 12 hours I will be working – Jan. 11 and 12th at my church as the substitute secretary.  I’ll bring a lunch!  I’ll make a rice and bean salad! 

C. e-mailed the other day – “Things are looking up, no?”  I do enjoy C. and her optimism.  She speaks fluent Russian if anyone needs her to say translate.

6 thoughts on “Blog blahs

  1. Happy New Year Karen!! Here’s hoping for full time employment in 2012.
    I am back to being unemployed “full time” once again. As I mentioned in an earlier post my “seasonal job” ended New Years Eve. It will be one full year at the end of this month that I have been out of work.
    Although 2011 had some bright moments, like my travels, it was really a year to forget and hopefully a brighter year ahead.

    I suppose that is the thing, to stay positive. Don’t give up the job search and try not to get discouraged when that email inbox is empty and the phone doesn’t ring for at least an interview.

    I am going to be heading into the job search head first as of today. There are a couple of jobs I am going to apply for that I noticed on Workopolis. I will also be heading to my friendly neighbourhood employment office once again tomorrow.

    Truth be told, I haven’t found them all that helpful in the past. They want me to take this three week job search course. I have already gone through that in the last place I lived, although it was only a three day course. They scoffed at the three day course when I told them I took something similar that they are offering. This three week thing just seems like a longer version and really will it be that helpful?

    So far , they have told me the obvious. I plan to head into the office tomorrow and see what they have to say. The course is meant for you to discover your likes and dislikes, what sort of work you might look for, etc. I sort of know what I want right now. The hard part is finding it.

    I am beginning to think it’s not so much what you know but who you know. I don’t know how many times I’ve heard people say “I got the job through a friend, or a relative recommended me”, etc. etc.
    I should be so lucky. Unfortunately I am new to the area and really don’t know a whole lot of people. You have to get out there and “network”, but exactly how do you do that? Call up a business and ask the HR person or boss of the business out for lunch? lol.

    I am going to start calling places that I apply to on-line. I know they all say “those considered for a position will be contacted”. What do you think, would a phone call to follow up a week or two later be such a bad thing? Interested in your thoughts on this. Have you made any contacts after or before you apply for a job somewhere?

    That’s it for now. Have a good day and good luck with the search.

    Thomas

    1. Hi, Thomas! Good to hear from you again. I agree with you about the job search course – although be aware that after March 31st, those will no longer be offered. That is in part what my article for ”this Magaazine” is about. After March 31st, things will change a lot to who knows what. But yeah, the three week thing probably won’t be that helpful, other than to get you on a regular schedule and to meet more people, which can sometimes be helpful. That is my issue with doing the Transitions course in February – I mean I’d get a regular schedule and be able to meet people but would it be that helpful? I’m not sure.
      Staying positive is indeed extremely tricky. I’m not feeling so positive at the moment but I hope that changes as the new year begins.
      And i hear youu about networking – it really is all about that they tell me. And I know, right, are we supposed to just cold call up businesses? I cant imagine that that works. And networking events . . . . are rather few and far between and sometimes expensive.
      So, i’ve been leaning again toward teaching ESL but i’m not sure.
      As for the after applying phone call -that is hard to know what to do there, especially when they say don’t contact them. I guess it couldn’t hurt.

  2. Who was the teacher skipped you in the chocolate handout? I mean, they know who they are, and they obviously pissed you off, so why not mention them so we all know. LOL
    Did that teacher on purposely skip over you to make a scene and make you feel bad, then you should bitch slap them. Beside what do you care, you’ll never work or see them again.
    But if there was a chance that it was an innocent over sight, then why would you even mention that you got upset over it, because then you just look petty. I am hoping that there is a bitch slap coming, I would hate to think that you were petty and upset over a misunderstanding.

    1. Fred, I am pleased you are still reading my blog! And for goodness sakes, I am petty, how long have you known me? Love, Karen p.s. although in the world o work, you never know when you will see people again!

Leave a comment